Welcome to Thoughts

There’s a lot more to the lost & found stories I share here than just what shows up. Things that don’t fit into the structure quite right, or challenges I come across in doing the exhaustive research that makes me so happy.

Often when I’m working my way through a story, I catch a glimpse of something shiny and have to chase it down. And sometimes, a story comes at me with fists bared and I'm not sure what to do about it.

As a writer, all those things come along for the ride, and so I’m setting aside space here on The Lost & Found Story Box just for them. I’m simply calling it Thoughts, and it’s accessible on the navigation bar at the top of my homepage.

Thoughts will also be home to some of the more touchy-feely writing that’s part and parcel of digging into the lives of strangers and laying them bare.

I’ve been writing about family history for a good long while, and that is often written with a sense of reverence and buy-in. I may not have known some of the folks I write about, but they are still part of my story. Strangers aren’t, and because of that it is sometimes easier, but also harder, to write about them clearly and honestly. I’ll share my thoughts on that topic and others like it sometimes, too.

And finally as a housekeeping note, posts included in Thoughts won’t show up in your inbox, and there won’t be any announcements —they’re not that kind of posts, but I do hope you click in every so often to see if anything new has shown up, and if you see something interesting, maybe sit with it awhile.

Thanks for stopping by, and I appreciate your support!

Lori